Tales for Very Picky Eaters by Josh Schneider

Cover for Tales for Very Picky Eaters

Oh No!

Schneider, Josh, Tales for Very Picky Eaters. 2011, Clarion Books. ISBN: 978-0-547-14956-1, early reader.

Quote:”I can’t eat broccoli,” said James.  “It’s disgusting.”

Awards: 2012 Winner of the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

Plot: James doesn’t like many foods so his dad gets creative.  He spins stories about what will happen if James does not eat!

What I Thought: This book is an interesting early reader.  There are four stories about what will happen if James doesn’t eat broccoli, milk, oatmeal or lasagna.  The fifth story has James describing what he thinks his dad is going to say to try to get him to eat eggs and is a cute reversal of the previous stories.  James’ unnamed father does not appear in the cartoon illustrations but James and his dog are drawn reacting to the scenarios the father describes.  This is an advanced early reader as the vocabulary is a little challenging.

Audience:  students in 1st-3rd grade, depending on reading fluency and picky eatingness!

Strengths/weaknesses: The stories are funny with great illustrations but a become a bit repetitive in tone, which is somewhat expected in an early reader.

Uses: Besides as a reading along with a child, a couple stories could be used in a story time and lead to some fun discussions about food.

Read-alikes: Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Suess, It’s a Book by Lane Smith, Should I Share My Ice Cream? by Mo Willems

 

Picture pulled from Tower Books.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s