Creepy Carrots! written by Aaron Reynolds and illustrated by Peter Brown

Cover of Creepy Carrots!

They’re coming for you!

Reynolds, Aaron and Peter Brown, Creepy Carrots! 2012, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers. ISBN: 978-1-4424-0297-3, Picture Book.

Quote: Jasper couldn’t get enough carrots…

Awards: was a 2013 Caldecott Honor book

Plot: Jasper Rabbit loves carrots!  He picks them and eats them all the time.  But one day he thinks he sees some carrots following him, stalking him, and completely creeping him out!  No one believes the carrots are after him, so Jasper takes matters into his own hands.

What I Thought:  This pictures book was very good.  The art is really great; the dark shadows make a contrast with the bright splashes of the orange carrots.  The book plays with the zombie trope so popular in the culture at this time in a way that kids can enjoy.  The happy ending also mitigates some of the scariness.

Audience: Kids over the age of 4-5 who like a bit of a scare.

Strengths/weaknesses: The art is cute with illustrations in black, white, shades of grey and the very important carrot orange!  It is definitely in a comic style and the cover looks like a movie poster.   It could be a little scary for younger children.

Uses: This would be a fabulous story time book!  It would work for Halloween or springtime and carrot- or bunny-based crafts would fit perfectly.

Read-alikes: Joey Fly, Private Eye in Creepy, Crawly Crime by Aaron Reynolds and Neil Numberman, Go to Bed Monster! byNatasha Wing and Sylvie Kantorovitz, and  Wolves by Emily Gravett

Picture pulled from School Library Journal.

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s